• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Am I crazy?

I'd like to ask those of you with some experience your feedback please.

I currently have a job that requires a lot of travel, anywhere from 50-80% of travel. It varies constantly, since what I do is sales related.

I have been doing this for several years, and lately it's become more difficult to do since it requires time away from my family, and I've become some what burned out on the travel. I am in my 30's.

I am investigating another position (may or may not be with the same employer) that requires very little travel, and is not sales related.

However, I would probably have to relocate (which would be paid for), and take a paycut. I would lose about $10-$20k in base pay, and probably about $30-$70k in bonuses. The new position still will pay well over $50k (the amount that is a threshhold for maximum money happiness, according to the 20/20 TV article).

So basically I am looking at forfeiting quite a bit of income to have stability in my life. I would spend more time at home and with the family, and hardly ever have to live out of a suit case again.

In addition, I feel that the sales job has become routine for me. At first it was a challenge, and required that I learn new skills, such as sales & technical skills, as well as people skills - learning how to speak in front of small and large groups of people. I feel like I have mastered this. The opportunity for my personal growth in terms of skills is some what limited, I feel like.

The new position will offer a whole new set of skills and challenges for me. I will learn to manage other people, learn to develop a team, and really work as a team towards common goals. That in itself is very appealing, since it will boost my resume with management skills, in addition to the sales, technical, and communication skills that I've already picked up.