• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Diminished Value Claims? Please help

I was recently involved in an auto collision in another one of my very treasured cars. I was not liable for the accident, btw. I have spoken to the liable party's insurance(happens to be the same as mine) about not only restoring the vehicle to pre-accident condition but also compensating me for the loss of value. her response was that the state law protects the insurance company from paying dimished value claims, and they would not compensate me in this manner at all. I was wondering if this is true, and if not, what can I do to get a fair compensation for this loss?
Thanks all.

------------------
G Dummy~

Faster than stock.
:D :D :D

I don't know anything about California state law, and I am not a lawyer. However, I have been asked this question in the past, regarding the value of NSXs, and I have discussed it with insurance folks and lawyers.

What you would need to do is to "prove" (I think this is normally done through the testimony of expert appraisers) that a car that has been damaged but completely and properly repaired has a market value that is lower than a car that has never been damaged. Unfortunately - like it or not - most experts will tell you that there is no reduction in market value when a car is in an accident and properly repaired.