• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

two cars crashing at 50mph = 1 car crashing at 100mph?

No, according to Mythbusters ( http://mythbustersresults.com/mythssion-control ).

They crashed one car traveling 100 mph into a solid wall, and the compared that to crashing 2 cars traveling at 50mph crashing into each other, and say that the 2 cars crashing at 50mph is equivalent to 1 car crashing at 50mph against a solid wall.

I think that is flawed, here's why:

It should have been two cars hitting each other at 50mph.

Then compare that to one car moving at 100mph hitting a stationary car, not an unmoving solid wall that does not compress or have crumple zones.

That would be a far more accurate comparison than the one car hitting a solid wall that does not move.

What do you think? I'm not a mechanical engineer but something seems off to me in the wall comparison vs 2 cars crashing at 50mph against each other. A wall is never the same as a crumbling car at any speed...

Last edited:
Thinking more about this:

valid comparison scenarios:

1) 1 car traveling at 50mph, crashes into a solid wall also traveling at 50mph. Compare to 1 car traveling at 100mph crashing into stationary solid wall.

2) as per above, 2 car traveling at 50mph each crashing into each other. Compare to 1 car traveling at 100mph crashing into stationary vehicle.

A wall does not distribute or absorb energy like a car, so it seems to me Mythbusters made a huge flaw comparing 2 cars crashing at 50mph each, to a car traveling at 100mph crashing into a solid unmoving wall...

Any engineers or any one care to comment?? I think Mythbusters need to fix this test and do it right per my scenarios above.