• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

have question on tire sizing

Need your expertise on a tire sizing issue. I have a 94 stock with original 16/17 inch wheels. I have been running Toyo T1R on the car for quite a few years and I am happy with the predictability of this tire. I replaced the fronts about 5 years ago and they are like brand new. Time for the rears but Toyo doesn't make 245/40/17 in the T1R. I found a pair of 245/35/17 on the net. My question is, would going from 40 to 35 profile cause any real problems with handling or tcs? I don't really want to go a whole new set of different brand tires at this time. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

If you mean to pair with a 215/45-16 front tire, then you would have TCS issues, as the 245/35-17 is only 0.6% larger diameter than the front. There's some chance it would work but unlikely, especially as it wears.

jwmelvin is correct. The 245/35-17 is 3.9 percent smaller in outer diameter than the stock 245/40-17, which just about uses up the tolerance in the TCS. And that will get worse as the rears wear.

Maybe it's time to get a different tire, front and rear. The T1R is not a very good tire anyway. I recommend one of these instead:

Bridgestone Potenza RE010 (OEM tire) 215/45-16 and 245/40-17
Bridgestone Potenza RE-71R 205/45-16 and 255/40-17
Hankook Ventus R-S3 (Version 2) 205/45-16 and either 245/40-17 or 255/40-17
Toyo Proxes R1R 205/45-16 and either 245/40-17 or 255/40-17
BFGoodrich gForce Rival S 215/45-16 and either 245/40-17 or 255/40-17
Falken Azenis RT-615K 215/45-16 and 255/40-17
Kumho Ecsta XS 215/45-16 and either 245/40-17 or 255/40-17

I want to thank you guys for the info. Looks like a new set of tires. Would there be any advantage to upgrade to a 17/18 in. wheel other than looks.