• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Heater only works part of the time

So two of us at NSXCapades had an unpleasant surprise on the way down - freezing temps in Florida and our heat only working part of the time.

Has anyone else had this problem? Solution? Thanks!

One day it works and the other not ? I would ask BrianK about the climate control unit failing.

I would just check the temp sensor / aspirator fan. If it is shot, disconnected or malfunctioning the car will blow full cold when temp is set under the default value (25 °C, I do not know the value in °F) and full hot when set over the default value. No more continuous regulation. Or something like that. I am not an expert.

Let's start with the basics;). What does your temp gauge read? Did it dip when you lost the heat? Could be as simple as the Thermostat....

HTH,
LarryB

could be as simple as mine. had nabil check mine for the same reason. when changing to heat, instead of the cable opening the valve, the shroud was slipping around the cable. the one under the dash was the culprit. it's the same as the one under the hood near the valve. put some tape around it and put it back in the clamp and it works perfectly.

LarryB, temp gauge and AEM readout are fine, and car has recent coolant flush, thermostat, hoses done. Spoke to Nabil about this and he mentioned the cable stretch, and also to check coolant, but haven't done the latter yet as only remember when I am driving and it hasn't warmed up yet. Will leave a sticky out to do it first thing!

I also checked with the tech who did the big service, and he said he had the climate control cranked to 90 when he did the bleed.

Note this happens several times during a long drive, it's not every other trip. And BrianK fixed this head unit 18 months ago. I guess it could be a new issue though. Actually this was ean exchange unit come to think of it.