• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Can somone please explain "cowl shake" to me in easy to understand terms?

Yes, I am a noob.:frown: If someone can explain cowl shake, I would appreciate that. I was just reading about the sway bars and such and how it would reduce cowl shake when the top is off. Thanks guys.

Re: Can somone please explain "cowl shake" to me in easy to understand terms?

cowl shake is the shaking/vibration you feel in the steering column, typically when going over rough turrain or bumps. . It results from the body twisting. It is obviously more prevalent in verts and t-tops since the chassis is generally less rigid. Strut brace etc help reduce this by stiffening the chassis (reducing flex).

This is a phrase that normally applies to convertibles, or in our case, a 'T' model.
In a nutshell. It is the sensation you feel/see when you are going over uneven surfaces of the road. The loss of the roof structure will cause the body of the car to literally flex and it is most noticeable in the cowl, which is the area of the car at the base of the windshield.
I'm sure others will chime in with a more detailed answer but that is the why I interpret it.

The roof of a car is an essential part that makes the chassis rigid. Rigidity in a chassis is highly desirable because it leads to less noise, better handling, better crash performance, among other things. Manufacturers are always trying to make the chassis of the car more rigid with less flex.