• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Difficult to takeoff from a stop - idle is stable

My ‘94 has become pretty difficult to get going in first gear. It has a manual transmission, and basically, it has become difficult to get rolling from a stop. If you give it enough gas, it will go, but feels like you’re slipping the clutch too much, but if you don’t, it seems far too easy to stall. If you just let off the clutch pedal without touching the gas, it will almost immediately stumble down to 500RPM as soon as the clutch starts engaging. If you immediately press the clutch back in, you can catch it and it’ll idle back up.

The car idles fine Normally, and with the A/C on, steady as can be, but it feels like it should be more forgiving. In other words, lately, I constantly feel like I’m still learning how to drive standard when in the NSX - I’m “nervous” when starting off from a stop, while other cars don’t give me the same problem, and neither did the NSX.

I’ve seen various threads about IACV and such, but those tend to be cars with issues idling, or revs dropping when stepping on the clutch, and so on. I’m also just having tough time coming up with a good phrase to search for with this problem, so if anyone can point me in the right direction, I’d be thrilled.

Hard to say. Does the clutch shudder while starting to take off from a full stop?
A manual NSX does requiry a little throttle compared to new cars which are more forgiving.