• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Self-install Clear Bra?

Anyone recommend against doing a clear-bra self-install?

I am finding Venture Shield sheets on ebay for only $65 to cover the hood. I figure with 2-3 rolls, I can do a full front wrap of bumper, hood, and front side fenders for under $200.

I've watched videos online, and it doesn't seem that tough, albeit time consuming.

Do any of you have experience with self-installs (installing without any prior experience) and can you comment on something nonobvious that should hold me back from trying it?

Side-note: I've read of a prime member having the clear bra lifting his paint. Is this a concern for those with factory paints that have never been repsrayed?

*I have no tinting experience, but I've worked with self-adhesive 3M vinyl (car grade) on my phone and it was really easy, and my result was better than probably 99.9% of the work out there. I am extremely meticulous and dextrous. I've never worked with wet-install processes, however.

Last edited:
dont do it. had ti done on a 2010 porsche Boxster and in 3 months this 3m crap started to form bubbles cuz water seaps thru the film and sits under the film, then gets moldy and turns black. then you need to take it back the pro that did it and have them do it again. if you ever take it off there are marks that the glue leaves or eats the paint.

I say Dont do it. keep a good coat of wax on the front and avoid big trucks throwing rocks at you

I know the 3M film is the hardest to install and the venture shield being one of the easiest. If your really meticulous in your prep, have a clean environment and patience than I would try it yourself. Personally I paid my body shop to install it because they will not only warranty the film but also the paint if it ruins it in any way. Maybe try something small like the mirrors first?