• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Supercar Run 3 - Saturday, 10/27/2012

Sam, maybe this will help you: http://autos.yahoo.com/blogs/motora...ed-cameras-errors-led-hundreds-184607968.html

According to one of the commenters:

As an ex cop, I'll give you some advice.....if you get a ticket, don't mail it in. Go into court and when they call on you, ask for the latest calibration info on that particular camera. If they can't produce it, you don't have to pay. They fail to supply pertinent info, you walk.

I have no idea if that is sound advice though. It might be better just to go to traffic school (if you can) or pay the fine. Good luck buddy.

There is a big misconception that "calibration" has anything to do with the validity of a speedig ticket. I'm sure it will vary from one jurisdiction to another, but where I used to work, I would verify the accuracy of the radar immediately after each traffic stop. The "calibration" is done at the factory and then you just test it with tuning forks. I have never seen a radar "out of calibration." On the other hand, when asked "when was the last time your radar was calibrated?" I would say, "it's accuracy was confirmed 10 minutes ago." Make sure that there are calibration/maintenence standards in the jurisdiction before you try to play the calibration card.

As for stationary cameras, it's kind of muddy waters. Technically, a law enforcement officer must witness the violation in order for it to be a chargable offense (non-LEOs will not have enough info about traffic law enforcement and the legal process involved in order to "prove" that a violation occured). Since a traffic camera is not an LEO, the enforceability of the ticket is questionable.