• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

02 NSX with 21k miles Replace Timing Belt and Water Pump just because?

I have an 02 with 21k miles and just wondering if I should just replace the timing belt and water pump just because its 10+ years of age. I Had the Acura dealer go thru the entire car and they say its in terrific new condition. I am not a DIY mechanic so not sure if they were even able to exam the belt? I am proactive about things and my gut tells me just replace both before spring time. Looking for some opinions for what I think I already know, replace it right? :smile:

There's lots of threads on this topic so I'm not going to rehash the debate, but if it were me, I would do it for peace of mind. Just my $0.02.

I have an 02 with 21k miles and just wondering if I should just replace the timing belt and water pump just because its 10+ years of age.
Honda/Acura, the people who built the car, have a schedule of recommended intervals for maintenance items. They recommend replacing the timing belt every 105K miles or 7 years, whichever comes first. So their opinion is that you are four years overdue.

On an 11-year-old car, I would also recommend replacing the cooling system hoses - the two big ones at a minimum. Do it at the same time as the water pump (and timing belt) and you'll have some savings in coolant and labor.