• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

1992 New to me, coolant leak

So I just bought my first NSX, a 1992 NA1, mostly stock. Just had it delivered and upon pulling off the trailer noticed a small bit of coolant on the floor of the trailer. As I'm not an expert on things NSX (yet), I'm not certain but the coolant felt thicker than what I'm used to in modern cars. I'm used to coolant that is near the viscosity of water, but this was a little thicker.

Car has 89k miles on it and a SoS coolant tank. Rest of the cooling system is stock. As soon as I see thick coolant, my mind immediately jumps to oil in the system, possible head gasket issue. Hope that's not the case right out of the gate. Any insight would be appreciated!

was the coolant from the rear of the car?

Looks to be coming from the upper part of the driver's side right under the throttle body somewhere. I didn't have a ton of time to check in detail and hope to get it up on a lift tomorrow for a deeper dive. Was more curious on coolant viscosity. My mind always immediately goes to worst case scenarios. 😬

The car also hasn't been driven but like 3k miles over the past decade, so I have no clue when the coolant system was last checked.

Last edited:

Correctly mixed coolant is definitely more viscous than water. If the coolant remains 'transparent' you probably do not have oil in the coolant. Oil mixed in with the coolant usually forms an emulsion. If you have enough coolant pooled in a spot you can shine a light on it to see if you get that 'oil film on water' that leads to multiple color reflection associated with thin films.