• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

check engine light

Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Mar 10, 2001
Messages
262
Location
Lakeland,Fl
Here in Florida,we do not have emission testing so I decided to punch out my cats.Any way ,after doing that my check engine light comes on after driving about 100 miles.Ive cleared the code about 5 times and each time after 100 miles or so it comes back on.Is there any way to clear this code permeanently.By the way ,I took it to the dealer and they said the code was showing two bad catalytic converters.
smile.gif


Joe

------------------
97 NSX-T
93 RX7 Touring
 
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Feb 21, 2000
Messages
1,413
Location
Austin, Republic of Texas
I am not sure how to reslove that, but you might try contacting a vendor that sells bypass pipes (e.g. Comptech) and ask them. If there is a sensor going off, it should do the same thing when you remove the cats.

------------------
----------------------------
Don't no nuttin 'bout no NSX;
Don't no nuttin 'bout birthin' no babbies.

View
 
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Feb 4, 2000
Messages
27,000
Location
Chicago IL
Is there any way to clear this code permanently.

Sure, just put the catalytic converters back on the car.
biggrin.gif
 
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Feb 24, 2000
Messages
257
Location
Valhalla, New York
I installed the Comptech bypass pipes and have exactly the same problem. I called Comptech and they have no solution except to disable the light.

I have since gotten used to the light and ignore it.
 
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Mar 10, 2001
Messages
262
Location
Lakeland,Fl
Thanks guys,I guess Ill just deal with the light until I can figure something out.
Maybe if I can get a look at an electrical book I can clip a wire somewhere so I could always put it back to stock someday.

Joe

------------------
97 NSX-T
93 RX7 Touring
 
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Mar 22, 2000
Messages
7,787
Location
Planet Earth
Originally posted by nsxbadboy:
... I can clip a wire somewhere so I could always put it back to stock someday.
Joe

You can also remove the instrument cluster an d put a piece of black electrical tape over the light. Much less invasive then cutting a wire.
 
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Joined
Feb 17, 2000
Messages
2,493
Location
San Francisco, CA
Originally posted by nsxbadboy:
Thanks guys,I guess Ill just deal with the light until I can figure something out.
Maybe if I can get a look at an electrical book I can clip a wire somewhere so I could always put it back to stock someday.


Why did u punch the cats if u thinking of putting it back to stock in the future. the cats are expensive, the CT bypass pipe would be a lot cheaper. Just curious mind.
 
Top