• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Ground Control / Koni Review

Figured I'd write a review up since I've had my Ground Control / Koni setup for a bit of time and have ran a number of autox events on them now.

I bought my NSX pretty much stock back in early October 2015. I'm an avid autoxer with 10 years of religious autox experience so I knew where I wanted to go with this car already. With years of autox experience, I know there are a few companies that are at the top of the list for drivers to choose from for a number of vehicles. Koni has to be by and far the most popular shock setup and Ground Control is also a very popular sleeve coilover that matches well with the Koni shocks. I also run these combos on 2 of my Civics that I've been racing and street driving for many years with never a single issue. In my search for the right suspension, Koni/GC was at the top of my list. Great cost to performance. I had others in mind, KW is obviously a very popular coilover for the NSX, but at double the cost for a car that isn't going to really be competitive and not driven much, I didn't find it to be worth it. I researched others such as the popular BC coilovers and Fortune Auto that hasn't had much info out there on, but didn't feel comfortable since I know they just don't have the same reputation and following the others do. So at the end of October I put in my order for Koni/GC with 650# front / 550# rear springs totaling $1,376.89 shipped.

I'll start with the bad... Once I received the coilovers in early November, I installed them and ran into an issue. The suspension was resting on the bump stops even at their highest setting. No room for travel, not correct. Contacted Ground Control, they eventually sent new, shorter bump stops which they should have originally sent.