• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

RDX Style Injectors

Are they worth it on an OBD1 (94) car were you can't mess with the tune. I've done headers, exhaust, intake, and crank pulley. Short of supercharging I want to get every bit of HP out of her. Please share your opinion one way or the other. Or any other Mod you would do.

Lots of information here.

http://www.nsxprime.com/forum/showthread.php/211416-Tuning-the-NSX-3-0L-Using-the-OEM-ECU

It turns out you CAN tune the OEM ECU with the addition of a Moates Demon II ($~250), a wide band O2 sensor, and an installation of TunerPro RT ($39). You will have to do a small amount of soldering to install the Demon II, but any old time radio shop will do it for you for ~$50.00.

All that said, I have been running the RX injectors for about 8 years, and am very happy with them -- and am looking forward to tuning them myself for my 5000'+ altitude. You can fill yourself in on my experience as well as others in the above mentioned thread.

Good luck, and join in the group on Facebook if you want to go down this route.

Last edited:
The injectors without the tune, if it runs at all (doubtful), would run very poorly. You have to change the injector pulse widths to account for the vastly increased fuel availability in the RDX injectors. You can get some insights into what is involved from my thread above your thread.

Would there be any performance gain by doing just the injectors and no tune?

I agree with Mark. I would NOT run the injectors in the car on the stock tune. It likely won't even start, since the injector dead times and cranking pulsewidths will be off. If it did start, it would run really rough and the ECU would go nuts trying to trim the fuel.

I found an old fashioned radio store -- something about vacuum tubes -- and had him do the soldering.