• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Skip Barber vs. Jim Russell ???

My wife has surprised me by granting my wish to participate in a formal driving/racing school (yes, long over-due). I have limited experience with just over two dozen HPDE events under my belt, and now want an opportunity to learn from the pros.

The two choices in my area are:
1.) Skip Barber @ Laguna Seca
2.) Jim Russell @ Infineon

Which program will give me the maximum exposure to becoming a better driver on the racetrack? Thanks for your inputs,

Larry

When you say "formal driving/racing school" are you talking about the SCCA competition licensing school?

Each of these places offers many different types of schools.
What class would you be taking in each school?

Scott

I've taken three Skip Barber courses at Laguna Seca - the 3-day racing school, car control clinic, and high-performance 2-day driving school. I haven't taken any Jim Russell courses so I'm not in a position to compare these two schools, but I can provide a little direction on the Skip Barber schools.

If you're going to take just one Skip Barber course, by far the best one is the 3-day racing school in the open-wheeled formula cars. You get the most track time and will learn the most. While the other two schools were good (and fun), the 3-day racing school is the best (albeit the most expensive) one that you can take without prior Skip Barber experience.

BTW, Laguna Seca is a blast. Again, I can't compare it to Infineon but for sure you won't be disappointed in Laguna Seca.

Re: Is Jimmy running the old cars.....or just the new?

Hey Larry, that's fantastic.