• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

received an odd check from overseas buyer

With all the talk off fraudulent checks and buyers I would like to seek all of your advice as to whether I am being fooled or not. I have been emailing a guy overseas for 3 months now and we have agreed on a price. He was supposed to send me a cashiers check immediately but always had excuses for not doing it. Finally 2 days ago I received a registered letter from France with a cashiers check from Bank One in Illinois for the full amount plus an additional $10,000 for shipping. I emailed the buyer and told him the bank said it would take nine days for the check to clear. Not to my surprise, I received an email from him today asking for $5,000 immediately for medical purposes. Here is the email, tell me if I am being frauded, I will certainly not give him any money until the check clears, and I will only give him the remainder of the shipping costs, also he is asking me to do something I have no idea what he is talking about concerning buying another car for him and shipping it to him, I just dont understand what this guy is thinking. Here is the email.

Goodday