• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Career question

Ok, here's a situation type question for all of those w/ a little more life experience than myself...
I graduated college a year ago and was fortunate enough to immediately land a good paying job as financial analyst at a very well repescted IT company. However, I am increasingly attracted to sales (mainly financial services related,or possibly medical related) positions. The people interaction and the possibility of very good money are definate pluses. The main thing that has me interested, is having control over my career destiney (ie. I sell lots, I make lots of money, I don't sell, I don't make squat). Although I do not have a family to support, or mortgage to pay, I am a bit intimiated by the fact that most of these jobs are 100% commissision based. I have confidence in my ability to sell, but have already gotten used to the "gauranteed" paycheck. So, that said, has anyone here made a similar move? Any suggestions? Thanks - btw, I do not own an NSX :-(, but have found your inputs to be far more mature, helpful and respectful than those on the CL boards. Thanks in advance!

[This message has been edited by Haus (edited 03 February 2003).]

My brother moved from an IT job to sales. His biggest gripe is the traveling, especially now that he is married and has a kid on the way. He flies 2-3 times a week, and spends the majority of his free time at airports. Other than that, he definitely makes more $$$. So you'll have to weight the pros and cons and decide for yourself. Good luck.

If you are single and are looking for some extra $$$ and don't mind the travel, drinking, and strip clubs, sales could be a good fit for you.

Try to get out of your sales position by the time you are ready to settle down with a family though.