• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

CEL Light on 96 HELP !

Hi guys

I am new to prime , and i just purchased my 2nd NSX( Red 96) about 2 months ago. Right away I started modding the car . Unfortunately this is the first time doing H/E/I on my car. I did some research on prime cuz i knew it was an odd ball year for the exhaust ( where as my 92 was already equipped !) I purchased a GT one v5.1,test pipes, and OBX Headers ( I know someone will cut me down for buying those ! LOL) The OBX only have the one O2 bung so my mechanic put the primary from Bank 1 in the test pipes about 8" in front of the secondary. The CEL comes on right at I fire her up with TCS.

1 Is the bung in the wrong place ?, should it be located in one leg or pipe from the header before the collector ?

BTW scan code shows primary 1 bank 1 heater sensor .

I also replaced 02 sensors

Thanks for the help in advance guys !

Last edited:
Shouldn't the primary 02 sensor be in front of the secondary sensor since it measures the difference in emissions before and after the cats?

Sorry about that , but ya it is 8" in front of the secondary

mmm... You say you have test pipes. This will surely set the CEL on. They test the cat which you removed:). The system is not like the 1992, it is OBDII and checks the cats. That is why you have four 02 sensors vs. your 1992 that had two.

To resolve this you need to mod the mounting of the secondary 02 sensors. To get how to do it go here:

http://www.energeticforum.com/renew...odification-using-spark-plug-non-foulers.html

BTW, forget the TCS light, just fix above and all will be fine.

HTH,
LarryB

mmm... You say you have test pipes. This will surely set the CEL on. They test the cat which you removed:). The system is not like the 1992, it is OBDII and checks the cats. That is why you have four 02 sensors vs. your 1992 that had two.