• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Is the Acura extended warranty worth it? I just bought a 2000 NSX this week and (m)

would please like some info as to whether I should part with the extra $3500 for a warranty, or if the car is reliable enough, call it a tossup. Does the warranty cover scheduled maintenance like BMW does? If not, anyone with stories of repair on their cars (at how many years and mileage from new and what cost would have been) that made a warranty worth it? My NSX has 20K miles on it and will be driven about 7500 miles a year (my only car). Multiple inputs would be appreciated as it would help me draw my conclusions. I'm currently covered until May 2004. Also, do you have to have someone else do all of your maintenance such as oil changes, plugs, fluids, filters, as to have all receipts or is it OK to have receipts for the parts purchased. I'm not a mechanic, but I can do a lot of the general maintenance and prefer to. I know this is a long post but I really appreciate your hel. The car has a perpetual smile on my face.
Raj