• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

My newbie experience with NSX wheel sizes and TSC

Hi All,

A newbie here from Kuala Lumpur. Finally took the plunge 3 weeks ago and bought a '91 Auto model with 02 facelift.

Car came with a 275/35/19 R and 225/40/18 F. As the tires were about 6 years old, hard and noisy, decided to change new tires to 265/30/19 R and maintain front size of 225/40/18.

After changeout done (at a tire dealer), as car rolls out for test drive prior alignment, the TSC started blinking and couldn't get any power from the engine (for some reason, I could not override the TSC despite pressing the button repeatedly). Thought I had electrical/fuse or ECU problems (...basically panicked)
I cooled down, sat in the dealers office and remembered that the OEM size were 225/50/16 R and 205/50/15 F. Then checked an online tire calculator for diameter ratio of Front to Back.

The original front:back diameter ratio is about 0.928
My new tires were 0.993 (almost 1)

Managed to convince dealer to change back rear tires to the old one just to confirm that it was the diameter ratio difference thats causing the TSC activation (..which he agreed after I told I'll pay for the new tires as it was considered "used" and he could not send it back).

Much to my relief, the TSC did not come on after changing back to the previous wheel size of 275/35/19. So i had to buy 2 more new tires for the rear.

A happy ending of sorts is that

1) the dealer managed to sell the 'used' 265/30/19 to someone else albeit at a slightly lower price than I bought.

2) My TSC is working (though my override button is questionable)

3) I've learned something about wheel size ratio for the 91 NSX.
(The original F:R ratio is about 0.928. Does anyone know the tolerance
it has before TSC is activated?