• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Need Answer by Sunday, Dec 30 8pmPST..Time Value of Money/Financial Planning Question

Hey guys,

I have a deadline to meet on an important decision. I'm a special education teacher and I'm in CAL STRS. The last day for me to purchase nonqualified service credit is Monday, December 30, 2012 at 3pm(PST). But I want to have an answer by Sunday, Dec 30 at 8pm PST. After Dec 30, I can't buy any service credit ever again. I can buy up to 5 years of nonqualified service credit. My example here will be for buying 1 year. So, buying 5 years would be the same, but X 5. So this is a big decision for me. I am very good at math, but don't have a whole lot of experience with the financial calculator. I could learn it online, but it might take me about a week, but I don't have a week to make that decision. So, I'd appreciated your help on this.

This example is for buying 1 year of service credit.

This is based on me retiring in June of 2030, and I'm 46 years old now. My birthday is Sept 18, 1966. I will be retiring in about 17 years.

Ok, here it is. This is all through CAL STRS which is the teacher retirement system for California.

1-Is is worth it for me to take $15,797.628 cash now to for an ANNUAL increase of $1,849.49 of retirement income when I retired 17 years from now? Of course, I don't know how low I'll live. The return in guaranteed.

If I invested $15,797.628 cash NOW, and get an ANNUAL increase of $1,849.49 NOW (this is hypothetical), it would take 8.5 years to get my money back because $15,797.628/$1,849.49=8.5 years. And my return on investment calculated on a percentage basis would be, 11.7% because $1,849.49/$15,797.628=0.117. Of course, I'm not making that income now, but 17 years from now. So factor that in. I'm making about 0.8% in IngDirect Electric Orange right now.