• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

new here, looking for information

Hi, my name is Rob, I am looking into purchasing an NSX in the (somewhat) near future. I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on what to look for regarding problem areas, or any mechanical issues that seem to occur more often than on other cars. Or even if they could just share their experiences.
I've done a little bit of research on them, and I am dead set on getting one as soon as i get the money...
I am currently a future soldier in the US Army, I ship out for Basic on November 16th, and I will be working on the Patriot Missile system after i finish my advanced training, which means I will most likely be stationed at Fort Bliss, Texas.

Good idea - you'll like or love the NSX. Develop a budget and find the car that best suites that. There are a few things you need to know.

Most cars for sale have some kind of deffered maintanance. That usually costs the owner depending on budget for the car and year - from 3k to 5k. Not always but most of the time. Then if your budget will allow you to move up into later year models some things are not a big issue like the timing belt/water pump/hoses and fluids but that is usually an issue in anything 7 years old or older. Clutches depending on how they are driven and not everyone knows how to take care of a clutch can be the most expensive single item needed. 2400 for clutch/flywheel/master and slave cylinder in the 3.0/5speed models or N1 and 4k for the same in the N2 models 3.2/6 speeds.

Timing belt is a time limited as well as mile limited item as are hoses. So don't be fooled by ads that say replaced at such and such miles, always ask how long ago too.