• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

next nsx--convertable..please!!!!!!

hi guys im new to the fourm..i had a 91 red nsx ..sold it for investments and will be in the market again maybe next year...anyway when i had me nsx i kept hearing how good the new vette was..so i rented it for one day...pros--convertable,much more low end torq, and thats about it...negatives...everything elese(bad build quality..bad handling..bad shifter...seems much higher...just cant compare!!
smile.gif
smile.gif
wink.gif

i really hope the next gen comes out soon..has about 375-425 hp but also 300-325 foot pounds of good old low end...but above all esle...please please acura give us a convertable...i would pay the current price for it---anyday!!!

Welcome to the Forum "VTEC".

I too have had the same thoughts you have. I used to own a 1995 BMW 3 series convertible and after modifcation to M status with factory BMW parts, it was awesome! The secret was that BMW has found a way to make the convertibles even stronger than the coupes! In fact, the new 2000 convertible is also designed from the ground up as a convertible and is nearly twices as rigid in sections as the coupe is. The chassis is so stiff that it can support another 3 series convertible on the A-pillars and Rollover Protection in the rear.

I think the NSX would be considerably too heavy in convertible trim if they tried to make it just as stiff as the coupe. That stiffness has to come from somewhere and it adds a lot of weight. my 95 BMW was my first convertible, but now I make it a rule to always have one. I now own a 99 Miata Sport that is AWESOME on the race track, and equally fun to drive to the post office with the top down on a sunny day.