• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Porterfield R4-S Pads

jmp

Experienced Member
I have reviewed a few brake pad threads/posts and have not seen much on these pads. Someone in the NSX community I respect very much highly recommended them for my type of driving -- CTSC'd, but a daily driver streetcar, with a 1-2 time per year track day. I want something that has limited dust and squeal but hopefully somewhat improved street condition performance over oem.

OEM's are awesome for my purposes but before I just go out and put them on, wanted opinions on this one pad.

Comments are appreciated!

I used to use and be pretty familiar with Porterfield pads. I tried to make the R4-s work for my use which was daily driver plus many track events a year. I'm an aggressive driver on the track and the R4-S pads aren't up to the task. Their failure mode is pad material buildup which results in thump-thump-thump after so much time of use. The buildup does not wear off on the street and it becomes very annoying.

Now, you may not drive as aggressively as I do in the brake zones - and you might go to tracks that don't require as much torture of the brakes - so they may be fine for you. They are quiet and they don't squeal enough for me to notice or remember. I've always had good service from Porterfield.

The R4 (race compound) kicks butt and I can't over drive them :) But, I wouldn't recommend them on the street.

I'm currently enjoying Carbotech Panther Plus pads for track use and some street use (say a day per week). I don't care about dust and wouldn't notice but they haven't squeaked for me yet. I'm on my first set which are 3/4 worn down after 6 track days, including one double-duty with my wife, many students riders and a fair amount of street use. So far so good.

Hope this helps.