• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Review: Angus AP-X Catback Exhaust System

Let me preface this review by saying that I am new to this scene, having very recently left the world of P-cars behind. The NSX is new to me and I have wanted one ever since 1990.

The previous owner had installed Comptech headers with the factory catalytic converters and stock cat-back. This is a fine setup if a bit quiet. I found myself wanting something with a bit more bark so I began my search in earnest shortly after acquiring the car. My criteria were few. The exhaust had to be: not raspy, lighter than the stock system (hardly difficult), be made of all stainless steel and it had to have dual round tips. Quad tips would have been a deal breaker for me.

After shopping around extensively for both used and new cat-backs I came across Wil’s AP-X exhaust here on Prime. I had a look and a listen and went away very impressed! The hand-made modular configuration featuring the unique x-pipe with v-band clamp and dual muffler setup had me sold. The light weight, all stainless steel construction with double walled tips certainly didn’t hurt. This was the one. Although the cost is more than some of the other mass-made offerings ultimately I felt it was reasonable all points considered.

Wil was very easy to deal with and responded to my questions within 1 or 2 business days. Although there was a delay in shipping, he was great at communicating what was happening. Once the system finally shipped it showed up on my doorstep in two days. Amazing! Upon unpacking the AP-X exhaust you will immediately notice the attention to detail and care that went into packaging it. There are cardboard reinforcements in strategic places and the mufflers are carefully nestled in high density foam blocks. Very nice!