• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

TPS bypass verification

JRZ

Contributing Member
Was hoping some of you pro's could confirm how to bypassing the TPS/ TCS since the search function didn't turn up anything solid. My TPS is broken so I have it unplugged for now. Just tired of looking at the TCS and engine check lights. I will eventually get to fixing it later. My thought is that I need to splice the TPS on the opposite side of the throttle cable to the TPS wires at the bottom of the tb (hopefully the colors of the wires are the same). TIA

I'm not a pro, but have you fixed this one yet? If not, the wire colors are different (just look at the connectors, you'll see they aren't the same). If memory serves I think the pin locations are flip flopped too (1-3, 3-1 perhaps?), but please don't quote me on that. You'll want to just hook up a little test harness to the TCS side TPS and measure the voltages and compare them to what's in the service manual for the normal TPS. You really do want to make sure that TPS is functioning properly anyhow rather than just splicing wires and doing some guess work. It doesn't take long at all to do this (5min if you have some spare wire and small female connectors)

I already taped / ziptied my wiring up, but if you absolutely can't figure it out, let me know and I'll can pull it all off and trace the wire colors back for you

Thanks for the reply D.N. No I have not fixed this yet. Simply couldn't find any more info on this. Since the wire colors might be different and I need to use a multimeter to test, I better just leave it alone for now. I'd feel like asking too much for you to have to go through all the trouble of taking off the intake to check. If you eventually recall how the wires are tapped, I'd really appreciate your help.