• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Track Report: Thunderhill West (2 Mile) on 9/24-25 in 100 deg heat

Are those pins the tools used to avoid damage to to carboceramics rotors?

Yes, although, more generally, they make it easier to deal with large wheels with low clearance when mounted with lug bolts versus stud & nut. Without these, you have to levitate the tire in front of hub and rotate it to align the five holes, while simultaneously getting at least two lug bolts started to hold tire in place--- all while you are paranoid about banging into your rotors (that prob cost $3K each or more).

Although definitely not impossible to change wheels without theses, its a lot harder (for me).

btw what is procedure for flat tire......

Great track report, thanks!

Question on the C7Z06.........

I'm a OTD Instructor and have had 2 students bring C7Z's this season, 1 was a manual and 1 was the automatic.

The manual worked flawlessly on track, but after about 20 minutes on the same tight 'handling' course the auto went into limp-in mode due to high coolant temps.

Is this considered to be normal?

btw what is procedure for flat tire......

I didn't get a flat, but there is no spare-- only tire sealant goop and a pump. I guess I assumed that the tires are run-flats, but I just took a peek and they don't say run-flat on them, so the procedure is "patch if you can, otherwise tow."

the goop is sketchy at best.

Question on the C7Z06...the manual worked flawlessly on track, but after about 20 minutes on the same tight 'handling' course the auto went into limp-in mode due to high coolant temps.