• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

where is my Fuel Cut-Off box/switch?

I have previously asked this question, still no progress. ((NEW UPDATES Below)) Can someone please help me find a mysterious small box in my 91 NSX. (Fuel Cut-Off box/switch).

I am almost certain Hondas have them, in fact even my Range Rover & Mercedes has one. As well as all Ford’s & Chevy's. This cut-off switch looks almost the same in each of the mentioned cars...its just a mystery to figure out where its at?

Trust me, from experience it is a Good Idea to always know where this box is @ when you travel.

Can someone please help me here???

Last edited:
Since you seem to know about these switches, can you tell us if the switch is in-line with the fuel supply? Is it electric or manual? I’ve been over almost every inch of the NSX and I’ve never seen such a switch—but I’m just a hack mechanic. Located on the home page of this site, there is a link to the Service Manual where one can find pages that detail the fuel system. You might want to take a look at those pages to see if the mystery switch is reveled. Please don’t be upset that this forum is not too eager to help you locate a switch that does not exist.

:)

DanO

The fuel pump is controlled by the ECU when the car is running, and by the ignition switch upon starting. There is a relay called the "main relay" that activates the fuel pump on startup, then gives control over to the ECU once the car is running. The main relay is located by the ECU (behind the passenger seat, just towards the center of the car. The service manual on line (as DanO mentions) has it all covered.

Page 23-13 shows the physical location
Page 11-8 shows the relay schematically
Page 11-103 to 11-105 is the troubleshooting procedure

Obviously I have had a few issues with this relay:):):).

HTH,
LarryB

In response to DanO / Then Larry