• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

What made the NSX the car for you?

http://www.nsxprime.com/forums/images/smilies/redface.gifOops hit the enter key too soon. Anyway, here goes;

I've been a Honda nut for 35 years & have owned everything from a new '76 Civic to a '97 Legend. (I still have an S800 & Z360). Of course when the NSX was released, I lusted after one, but couldn't afford it as I was a new small business owner. Finally, in '02, I got my '99auto. Why did I want an NSX?; Simply, it represented the pinnacle (at the time of release) of engineering excellence, from arguably the world's best engine manufacturer. Only after living with it as a daily driver, did I begin to truly appreciate the beautiful balance Honda achieved in making a very livable, highly reliable high performance car with unbelievably good handling. Have a look at the exquisite forgings of the all-aluminium suspension arms. It doesn't look too bad either. Need I go on; In the immortal words of Roger Rabbit; Let me count the ways...

Even today, is there a better 2 or 4 seat car (in a similar category) available for under $400k?

What made NSX the car for me:
http://nsxprime.com/forums/showthread.php?t=77631

Paul Phillips said:
Even today, is there a better 2 or 4 seat car (in a similar category) available for under $400k?

Hey Paul don't get me wrong - I love the NSX too.... but saying there's nothing better under $400k is a very big call!

That includes cars such as:

Ferrari F430 (just)
Lamborghini Gallardo
Porsche 911 Turbo
2008 Nissan GTR, when it arrives here, ~$150k

I think most people, even here on Prime, would take one of these cars over the NSX. Anyone who wouldn't?