• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

91 with 16" in front - tire height?

I cannot figure out which tire height will be the correct. I have been driving with 225/40/16 for the last two years, and I have had a couple of "TCS"-incidents on track days. Also, my front wheels looks like they are a size too small for the fender curve.

A few days ago, I measured the diameter on two of my friends NSXes who both run 225/35/18 in front. They are appx. 1" larger then mine. Using a tire calculator, I got 225/45/16 as the closest to 225/35/18.

I searched the Prime and found the newer NSXes using 45 as standard height.

So, what will be the most correct height: 40 or 45?

Last edited:
'91s came with 15" front rims but if you're talking about the stock 16" front size that came out a few years later, it was 215-45-16 which are difficult to find depending on the brand.

I bought my car with aftermarket wheels some years ago. After I invested in a new set of Enkeis, I apparently calculated the tires in front to be 40 in height. As I said in my first post, they looks too small for the arch and also is 1" lower in diameter compared to my friends NSXs

I would like to know what is the recommended tire size when running 16&17 on a 91 with 225/16 in the front: 225/40/16 or 225/45/16?

This may be an academic exercise. According to Tire Rack, nobody makes a 225-40-16 tire any more so if you're looking for new tires, that narrows it down to your other choice. But as I said, the stock size for the front is 215-45-16 .. why wouldn't you go with that?

+1 on that , stick to OEM in that rim size.

225/45/16 has been ordered. :smile:

I run 225 for the looks, but could of course choose 215s. As I said, I must have miscalculated the set I bought for my Enkeis. It did look a bit too small, but I was confident my math was 100 % correct. :rolleyes: