• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Header installation - doing it myself

For those of you thinking of installing headers yourself, you might be interested in the following exploits of installing headers with no lift. I work at a very moderate pace and I'm doing the work myself because I find it very enjoyable, a hobby if you will. I was an auto mechanic for about 6 years and a jet engine (TF-33 and TF-39) mechanic for 5 years. I'm an Information Systems Tech now but still love turning wrenches.

I jacked up the car enough to work comfortably. I also purchased some thick foam mats from Home Depot to lay on. The mats are sold in 4's, and are put together like a puzzle in any configuration you like. Much nicer than laying on concrete.

Night 1: Got started late (7:30pm) but did manage to remove the exhaust and cats. One cat was stuck to the muffler pipe but with a little finesse, came loose. Looking forward to replacing the exhaust (muffler) as the stock unit is pretty heavy. The Taitec lightweight exhaust should be here next Friday I hope. Anyway, no problems so far. Finished for the night at 10pm. Note: I removed the muffler assembly by my self. I laid under the muffler and removed the unit from the hangers. (Total work time for tonight: 2.5 hrs)

Night 2: Removed the rear exhaust manifold. Ran into a little trouble with figuring out how to get the box end wrench over the Oxygen sensor. At first I tried removing the sensor with a crows foot but the foot just expanded to the point where it would slip over the nut part of the sensor. I was thinking I could just cut the wires and then solder them back when finished, but I decided to call my neighbor for a second opinion.

He showed me how to remove the connector without damaging the wires (easy when you know how!). With the connector removed, and using a box end, the sensor didn't put up much of a fight.