• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

interior lighting problem

BAG

Registered Member
Hi,
R courtesy light and dome work w/door opening.
L do not along w/ignition light and and drivers bay light.
Previous owner messed w/speaker in L door fwiw.
Fuses I checked were functional unless I'm missing something.
BAG

You didn't mention your car year, so you're getting my comments based on my 1995/1996 Electrical Trouble-shooting Manual (ETM). As an initial WAG, it sounds like its the door switch or the wiring to it.

I put a lot of steps here. I'm an electrical engineer and so this stuff is obvious to me, but understandably is not so obvious to others. Do what you can, or provide this info to someone who understands wiring. Feel free to ask questions & let me know how far you got. I can suggest further tests based on what you find.

The most direct approach (ie, not using a voltmeter) is to open up the door and find the switch. Is connector C615 connected to it? The switch side of the connector has RED and BLK leads; connector C615 (2 pins, GRY connector body color) has GRN/BLU and BLK leads.

If C615 is not connected to the switch, that was probably your problem.

If the switch is connected, remove the connector and take a piece of wire (a paper clip will do) and short the leads together (GRN/BLU to BLK). If all 3 lights come on, the switch is broken.

If lights don't come on,
1. You can have a bad ground in the door
2. You can have a broken (cut??) GRN/BLU wire in the door
or