• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Question & Carfax please jh4na1280st000155

I am considering this 95' that is currently for sale on ebay, but only if I can get it at the right price.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Acur...016QQitemZ260183456340QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

It is a salvage title and seller states that the vehicle was run over a curb and recieved damage to the undercarriage, front bumper, and suspension. He states all repairs were done at an Acura dealer with genuine parts. This would be my 3rd 95' automatic that I have owned, but I have no experience with salvage title vehicles. If anyone could give me advice on what to ask or request from the owner, or what to look for it would be appreciated. Your reccommendations on price would also be helpful.
thanks,
David

You don't need a carfax: you already know it is salvaged. I don't know what else you need to know.

You want to see the frame alignment sheet.

Have the car checked at a body/frame shop. If you don't have the frame alignment specs I would spend the $600 to get one before purchase.

Also make sure the car is not stolen or shows signs of VIN tampering.

I also recommend to read the 'sticky' thread at top of thread listing concerning you asking for someone to run a CARFAX for you.
If you really want one run, spend the $20.

ALWAYS pass on a salvaged vehicle - PERIOD!!!!!

ALWAYS pass on a salvaged vehicle - PERIOD!!!!!

How about for $5? Would you pass on it then?

Doubtful. Somewhere between $5 and $??K it is worth to deal with a salvage.

This NSX appears to be a flip in a matter of days since it's drive from NYC. The person you are buying it from has little knowledge to disclose. You should be extremely wary of this particular transaction.

Of course, Acura parts are used on this car: non OEM replacement parts are rare on the NSX.

Here is what you need to be "reasonably sure"