• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Racism and the next President

Have been thinking of the idea that our next President may be the first 'African American' to win the Presidential nomination. I've been wondering if there may be issues all over America that will cause heated debates, or an even further divide between races after the election has ended.

So far, I haven't heard many people discussing the issue, but feel there may be an undertone that will surface if Barack gets the Dem. nomination.

Anyone else have any thoughts, or heard conversation around this topic?

I think the best bet for Hilary or Barack to become President would have been to run as Vice President. That way, for sure the President would have been assassinated by a female or an African American. Yes, I am a political scientist and a historian.

Anyone else have any thoughts, or heard conversation around this topic?

Yeah, I brought up this topic over dinner last night. The question I posed is, what happens if Obama wins and someone kills him? What will happen to race relations?

I think Obama will make a great president, and I wish all the best for him. But I know our country still has a lot of backwards racist hicks.

I'm not racist, and am generally color blind, but I don't like Obama or Clinton.

I wish Ms. Rice would run instead. She would get my vote for sure. Her or Colin Powell.

if ms rice ran she would totaly screw up the democrats statagey of haveing all the women vote for clinton and having all the blacks vote for obama, she would pretty much have 95% of the total votes cast:tongue:

the two biggest things going for clinton are 1) shes bill clintons wife 2) shes a woman, the biggest thing obama has going for him is he is black.