• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Reasons for the differences in hardcore factor of S2K vs. NSX folks

Has anyone been to S2ki.com recently? Their racing and track events section is awesome.
There are some great and inspiring drivers over there. I was just reading through davepk's brake design analysis thread... and realized that we never have anything like that here. Is it the difference in image of our car, the cost, the owner base, or what? I'm no engineer, but I wish our community had more crazy nuts like our other Honda bretheren.

Check these threads for example:

http://www.s2ki.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=123981
http://www.s2ki.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=11

Kenji "Someday on Pulp Racing Hall of Fame" MR

I gotta tell ya, I just don't agree. The S2000 guys and the NSX guys have a lot in common (and there is some overlap among the two groups). We have at least as much driver talent and in-depth engineering expertise as that illustrated in the topic linked above. However, it's not all displayed in one place; in addition to that shown on NSXprime, of course, we have lengthy technical articles in NSX Driver (the S2KCA doesn't have a hard-copy print newsletter), some interesting info still crops up from time to time on the NSX e-mail lists, and we have vendors such as Dali Racing and Science of Speed who are using their expertise to put products on the market for our cars (and theirs, too). NSXPO is far larger and more varied than their events, and puts our driver and engineering expertise on display. We also have the NSX FAQ, which flat out rocks!