• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Sand Blasted My NSX - Advice Needed

Sand Blasted My NSX - **Added Pictures**

I work as a civilian on a military installation. Last Monday one of my coworkers came running into my office and told me I better get outside and move my NSX. When I got outside there was four contractors running those huge blowers on wheels and a huge cloud of dust.

These blowers are designed to pick up any dirt, pebbles or debris off the asphalt and blow them out a 12" exhaust duct at high velocity. Then the asphalt is clean enough to reseal. Our unit had hired these contractors to resurface some of the asphalt on base.

I could see through the dust that one of them has his machine about two feet from my NSX with the exhaust duct tilted directly up at my NSX. I can see a thick 12" thick plume of dirt and debris pelting the side of my car so I ran over to the guy and screamed at him to shut the machine off but he wouldn't (the blower is really loud). My NSX is literally covered in dirt and dust and the whole hood has countless tiny pebbles all over it. Not knowing what else to do I called Security Police. They respond in less than a minute and direct the whole crew to shut down their blowers.

Well, to make a long story short, my NSX has tiny paint knicks (most of them down to the aluminum) all over it. One dent is about and inch square. The paint on both rear veiw mirrors is ruined. Both turn signal lights are cracked. The hood, front clip and fenders also have chips everywhere. The windshield needs replacing. Even the parts of the car that weren't directly hit had so much dirt on them that the clear coat is ruined. There was over an inch of tiny pebbles accumulated on the windshield wipers and on the rear truck hatch. Unbelievable. :mad: