• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

synthetic or convention motor oil for a new car?

Got a brand new Mazda 3 2.0L skyactiv. I have a 1000 miles on it so far, Mazda says oil change every 5k. I have never broke in a car engine before, so ive been taking it super easy on the car. Should I do an oil change on the car before 5k, and if so should I use full synthetic, or half/half. I was doing research and found out that using conventional oil will be better for break in since it creates more friction to put on the seals. Does this matter on these type of new cars? What do you guys do with your new cars?

p.s: I have never used conventional oil before.

I think these days the whole break in thing is not that critical anymore. I wouldn't go revving it to redline at every light but today's engines really don't need all that babying. As far as the oil.... How long do you want to keep the car? And how perfect? If its a daily driver mazda I wouldn't use synthetic just because of cost. It'll probably do just fine on what is recommended in the manual. This isn't some ZR1 motor or a Ferrari engine redlining at 9K. I think you are over thinking this and wasting money with synthetic. Do it for the NSX, forget it on the mazda.

Regarding break-in, do whatever your owner's manual tells you. I know Honda/Acura cars use a special break-in oil and they tell you not to change it out too soon, but I don't think other brands of car do that.