• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

too many targas...

I am a newbie and looking for advice. I am in the market for a low mileage (under 35K miles) NSX and would prefer something in the 1997-2003 age range with price maximum of $40-45K. Unfortunately, I am finding that most of the cars on the market are targas, and I cannot fit in them.

I am 6'2" and have tried on several T models and no matter how I adjust the seats, the back of my head hits the mounting point for the targa top. So I am resigned to looking for a low mileage non-T coupe (which I can fit in comfortably) and they are proving to be elusive. I also doubt that the thin seat cushion modification will make enough difference for me.

I have looked over the cars here on Prime and on several online sites and am striking out. Is this just a lean time for coupes on the market or am I being unrealistic in my expectations?

Thanks.

Tom

From the wiki:

Changes for 1996

• Grand Prix White available again
  • Coupes were available again, though from this point on they were special-order only.
Since they were special order only I am guessing they will be far and few between. No coupes were available in 95 so your best bet would be a nice 91-94. Other than that you will likely have to be very patient and need a little bit of luck to find a 97+ coupe with low miles for the price you are willing to spend.

strangely i am close to your height and have no fit issues in my targa. i suspect you are used to more upright seating position.
na2 coupes are almost mythical and rarely come up for sale.

This is why I own an early model coupe :)

Your chances of owning a '97+ Coupe are slim and none...they were only a handful made.

Here are your options: