• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Wet Sanding and detailing of my red 92 ***PICS*** 56k no no !

After the installation of the widebody kit, I noticed that the painter left many deep marks from wet sanding... to make a long story short, I decided to re-sand the front bumper to remove the "orange peel" finish in some areas.

Since I am a newbie at all of this, I have a friend (Joe) who is also a professional detailer to help me out with this scary task ;) I know there is enough coating of clear, but he decided to use Meguiar's UNIGRIT 1500 grade to be safe.

The car was first washed down and he went into details to clean the rims, tires, gaps between panels with assortment of big and small brushes. I noticed he used Meguiar's #39 with a small brush for all the gaps that had some left over wax from previous... it worked very well :)

The papers was soaked in Meguiars #00 and water for ~30 minutes before sanding.... then the sanding begins... sand paper was applied with light presure, same direction motion... rinse after every 3 strokes to keep grits clean.

Detail2004-1.jpg

After the wet sanding....

Detail2004-2.jpg

Another angle....

Detail2004-4.jpg

After the sanding, he applied Meguiars #84 compound cleaner on the rotary with a Meg cutting pad. Then switched to the PC (porter cable 7424 random orbital polisher ) and applied Meg #83 DACP, then #82 swirl free polish... I was amazed just after the polish that most of the orange peel look was gone...

Detail2004-3.jpg

another angle

Detail2004-5.jpg

now for the rest of the car.... I have pretty bad swirls in the rear trunk lid and spoiler. Joe then applied compound power cleaner with a meguiars cutting pad to that area... followed by the PC and SSR2.5, then SSR1 (SSR2.5= Poorboys SSR 2.5,swirl removing polish)

Detail2004-7.jpg

For the hood, Joe applied DACP with the PC, then Meguiar's #80 speed glaze.