• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Disappointed with comptech supercher (9lbs)

Hi NSXers,
I have been running Larry's custom turbo for almost 2 months now. I have to say that I am very very satisfied with the power and response. The car hasn't been dynoed yet, and it is currently running at 6 psi. I had the opportunity to get a ride in a 9psi comptech supercharger, along with CT headers, exhaust and clutch. Here are some of my impressions....
The car is really smooth, a very gradual increase in speed and torque. However, I can't really feel the "pull" until 5500rpm or above...
My conclusion is that I am bit disappointed with the supercharger itself. I would really expect something more for something that costs over 10k. But I really respect the quality and cleaness of the unit. I will bring my car to the next NSXSC meeting, and people can give their own opinion then.

I have been in 4 Comptech SC NSXs, all of them don't feel fast straight line. Where NSX shines is on the road course where the driver can appreciate the car's balance. I would think the Comptech unit is the most reliable force induction out there. Even with a SC, I think the NSX is at similiar speed as a stock Z06 at the road course. The difference between them is the NSX feels alot better. After test drove the 02 Z06, it did not feel very well but it sure is cheap for the type of performance.

Originally posted by jackmac:
Hi NSXers,
I have been running Larry's custom turbo for almost 2 months now. I have to say that I am very very satisfied with the power and response. The car hasn't been dynoed yet, and it is currently running at 6 psi. I had the opportunity to get a ride in a 9psi comptech supercharger, along with CT headers, exhaust and clutch. Here are some of my impressions....