• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

My track experience at nsxpo 2010 las vegas

When I decided to go NSXPO in Las Vegas I figured that the HPDE would be great opportunity for me to drive my car on a track for the first time. However, since I was newbie, I wanted to be as prepared as possible. At first I thought I needed help not only because I was a newbie, but also because I felt that I would be at a disadvantage in that my car is automatic (you know, heavy, tall gears and less HP). So, I original posted a thread titled “Seeking advice on best bang for the buck suspension mods”. I was thinking at the time about sway bars. The consensus by the responders (with only a couple of dissenters) was loud and clear, as newbie; leave the car as is, but ensure that I have fresh breaks pads and fluid, suitable thread on my tires and that the car as a whole is mechanically sound. The next area advice was for “me” to prepare for the HPDE by reading articles and watching instructional videos on high performance driving, including videos of the Spring Mountain Motor ranch (SMMR) track itself to help me learn the course ahead of time. I took these recommendations and did the following:

CAR PREPARATION
1. I had my car inspected by my local Acura mechanic and by Niguel Motors (Ramon) my NSX mechanic.
2. It was determined that my cooling system hoses needed to be replaced (they were questionable for hard use).
3. In subsequent responses to my original thread it was suggested that I upgrade my brake fluid. Prospeed RS683 and Motul RBF 600 were recommended by Ken Sax. I choose Motul in that it was easier to find. I also had street-track pads installed, specifically Hawk HP+ (Hawk HP Plus), again as recommended by Ken Sax from his experience. Ramon also turned my front rotors.