• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

opinions on the Apexi VTEC Controller?

I've been thinking about purchasing one of these things for a long time.I'd like to know about any expieriences anyone has had with them.

They are used better for their fuel curve tuning than the VTEC adjustment. You can lower it down a bit say 5000-5500 rpms, any lower and it is worthless. This unit is a neccessity on a boosted 4 cyl honda motor for sure. Many NSX guys don't like them, but I believe it is just their lack of experience with the VAFC. I have tuned many Integra's and civics with total success with the unit. I have no experience with the NSX use as of yet.

i have been thinking about trying it also. Not many people have and the ones who did, did not think they saw much improvement. I talked to a friend a an Acura dealership and he said if you lower your vtec down you need to also change your fuel maps at the lower rpm to see any improvement. He thought that this is why many owners did not notice any change . he suggested to spend a day on the dyno tuning to get the best results. I think i might try it in a couple of months. I have been wanting to go to the dyno to see the results of my mods anyway.

I have one installed by the previous owner of the car but never know how to operate it. Could anyone give me a manual? or do I need to take it to a pro shop to tune the car with the unit? Will my car performance be affected if I did not tune it properly?

If so can I bypass the unit?

Thanks