• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Question on hood release lever

I recently had my front hood and bumper painted and when I attempt to push the hood close it is very difficult to get it locked. If I release it from 12" or so no problem.

I tried lowering the black stops and they are about as low as I could get. The hood looks aligned just fine but is difficult to close when pushing down with hand.

Is it possible to adjust the latch without removing the front bumper ? This is for a 2005 model year.

Thanks,

Last edited:
I don't know about adjustments; but, I thought the drop from 10 - 12" was the accepted way of closure. That is what I have been doing for 9+ years on my 2000. I don't think I have ever tried to close it by just lowering it and then pushing it closed.

Thanks for the feedback.

I figured out what was causing the problem and funny rather. I noticed the rubber seal that sits between the hood and bumper what "slid" on in the wrong direction There little holes that were showing and I figured maybe it was replaced with an aftermarket one.

Then light bulb went off so I slid it out turned it around and problem solved :)

When they reinstalled the bumper and hood that rubber seal that goes across the front was inserted in the wrong direction causing the padding to make it harder to close when pushing down.

This does beg the question should I avoid doing that and just drop it about 10-12 inches instead ? Ive been closing it by hand with a micro towel for about a year but maybe I risk denting the hood ?

Thanks for the info it looks like its a new part. I will start dropping the hood from about 10" as that seems to work fine as well.

This does beg the question should I avoid doing that and just drop it about 10-12 inches instead ? Ive been closing it by hand with a micro towel for about a year but maybe I risk denting the hood ?