• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Should I buy an older or newer NSX

LMR

Legendary Member
I am finally ready to buy a NSX after dreaming of owning one since they came out in 1991. BMW is buying my 2006 Z4 after 3 1/2 years of problems, mostly electrical. I will be dropping it off at the dealer today and getting a check:smile:. Here is my dilemma. Should I buy a newer one and use most or all the money or should I buy an older one and save the extra money for future repairs. I have been pricing them for a couple of months while waiting for BMW to agree to a buy back. I am seeing 1991 to 1993 going for $20K to $25k and 2000 to 2002 for $42k to $48k. I do not think I could spend around $20k in repairs for an older one over the next few years. I have been looking on this site for info on what might be needed for repairs on the older ones and learned about the importance of timing belt and water pump replacement and up to date service but thought it would be best to post this and get more direct answers for my situation. I also will using this as my daily car. Thanks in advance for all advice.

I have owned 5 total.
2, 92s
2, 95 targas
1, 02.

I personally love the 02 more than I thought I would.
To me it's a huge difference in looks and performance.
I know a lot of purists still like the pop up headlights, but after having the bugeyes, the 91-01s IMO look a little dated.

If you can afford the newer one, get it, hands down.

Just my .02

preference...

Go w/ one of the following three scenarios, note that each of them should have a commonality - namely maint'/service is up to date & most wear-&-tear parts/components have been addressed...

* $22.5k - $27.5k for '91-'94 NSX coupe w/ avg./above-avg. miles

* $30k - $35k for '95-'96 NSX-T w/ avg./above-avg. miles

* $37.5k - $42.5k for '97-'01 NSX-T w/ avg./above-avg. miles