• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

AUX Input for OEM Acura/Bose Radio

RYU

Legendary Member
Patron Supporter
Tech Expert
I've been using the GROM iPod adapter for a couple of years now. It's been trouble free but i've outgrown my iPod. These days i've been on my Android streaming music through it while also using Turn-by-turn Navigation. In my other cars I ran an "audio aux" 1/8" audio cable directly to my crossover and it works great. I really want to do this on the NSX but the NSX is the only car I own with the archaic OE system still in it.

Here are the options I've found to create an AUX input. Hope to get some feedback from you folks. (p.s. if there's already a thread on this kind of info please advise. I found none in a search)

alpine-wiring.gif

1. I know I can hack into the CD changer cable and pick up my left/right pre-amp signals inputs thru there. I should be able to quickly patch through a 1/8" plug to rca adapter of some sort so my Android phone can stream into it. The problem I have is I don't know how to trick the OEM headunit to think the CD changer is still there. I believe the BUS (Pin#1) needs some trigger voltage for this. I have no idea what voltage that is... Anyone know?

2. The other option is to keep the factory CD changer in place but cut/splice into the left/right audio inputs (i.e. Pin #5,4,2). This will keep the head unit thinking the CD changer is still plugged in but the Android device will intercept the audio signal. I hate this option because it's just ghetto since I have a useless CD changer still in the car but it works.

3. Call it a day and just buy this...Who's used this before?
http://www.installer.com/item/display_item.php?it=hon-aux