• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Buying a business - smart idea?

I don't own an NSX yet, but I've been coming here for years and have always found helpful advice, NSX-related or not. I'm hoping someone can give me their opinions.

I graduated in Finance from UW a year ago, and have a great job in finance for an insurance company making $50-60k/yr. I own 50% of my condo in Seattle purchased 9 months ago, the other half is shared with my parents. My plan is to get an MBA in a top 25 school in California (USC, UCLA, Berkeley, Stanford) in 2 years. I have about $60k invested in mutual funds and am saving over $1k/mo on average. Only debt is a $6k loan from college.

I am considering buying a proprietary freight/shipping route locally. The business is for sale asking $92,500, grosses $94k/yr, cash flow is $77k/yr, and revenue has grown at least 10% every year for the past 5 years. The business comes with a van and a driver paid $43.5k/yr including taxes. Seller claims passive earnings of $33k/yr for the owner. I am always looking for smarter ways to invest my money, and at this point with a decent personal cash flow and no wife/kids/debt, I feel maybe it's not a bad time to take on something like this. It seems like the cash flows and expenses are pretty stable with not much risk. My only worries I can think of would be filling the driver's position if he were to quit unexpectedly/suddenly, and maintaining/repairing the van, which is a 1993 International said to be well-maintained.