• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Looking for a boat

I am new to the boat thing, I grew up with them but never owned them. I was looking at a Fountain or something like that 27-33 footer power boat. The one I was looking at had about 1000 HP and did 90+. The questing I have is how bad are they to maintain and what problem do they have and can these kinda boats even pull a someone on a Ski? Also I am sure the gas sucks as well lol. Any help would be great.

I'll refer this thread to my buddy Captain Ted who knows quite a bit about boats. But just for the record, a 1000 HP boat capable of 90MPH could probably pull and entire NFL football team on waterskis. :)

As you can tell I dont know shit about boats :) I was going to get a fast car but I dont want the tickets, I dont need/want a bigger house but I want something to do on the weekends with friends so it's a boat :) Are the Fountain's a good boat? Any others I sould look at or any links that help me educate myself about them?

Thanks

Hugh said:
I'll refer this thread to my buddy Captain Ted who knows quite a bit about boats. But just for the record, a 1000 HP boat capable of 90MPH could probably pull and entire NFL football team on waterskis. :)

My dad said the same thing, I said "You know I was thinking about getting a boat. How do you like yours? "He said "It something to throw money at" lol

Shumdit said:
You know what the 2 happiest days are of a boat owner's life don't you?

The day he buys it and the day he sells it!

just buy yourself a nice ferrari, and save tons of money, tickets or not :smile:

but seriously, boating can be tons of fun.

a "sportscar" type boat will yes, be very fast... but not so comfortable or stable when the water gets rough.
Skiing behind a 30 foot boat with 1,000hp would be extremely dangerous if it's even possible.