• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Tire Question--Need advice, new NSX owner

1991 NSX. I have a set of the factory original 15" front and 16" rear rims that I would like to put tires on. Does anyone still use these wheels anymore and what brand of tires have you recently purchased for them? I live in Virginia so we do have temperatures below freezing for 3-4 months out of the year.

Thanks in advance,

Frank

I use those wheels on my Legend. I currently have Continental ExtremeContact DWS on the 16" wheels but a now discontinued Kumho Ecsta something on the 15" wheels. This is my first year with the Continentals so I don't know how they will be in the winter but so far they are okay.

Other tires I've tried (all within the past five years or so):

Kumho Ecsta AST on 16s/Kumho Ecsta SPT on 15s - these were pretty good and what I had on just last year. Not great in the snow but they did well in the rain. Didn't last very long though.

Falken Ziex ZE-512 - this is basically my 'go-to' tire when I can't find anything else. This used to come in matching sizes for the 15s/16s but I am not so sure now (finding a matching set for F/R is pretty tough at this size combination nowadays I think). Dry grip with these was very good but in the wet ~ not so much. They are noisy as well.

Falken FK452 on 16s , older Falken ZE-512 on 15s - this was an okay combination. About the same as having ZE-512 all around.

These are the ones I remember off the top of my head. I'll have to go back through some old receipts to see what else I've tried (pretty sure I've also tried BF Goodrich, Yokohama, and some others).