• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

What heats up first, oil or water temps?

I recently installed aftermarket gauges to monitor both water and oil temps in my 1992 NSX. After starting cold, I've noticed that my oil temp gauge goes up first and corresponds with the OEM temp gauge (which I believe is water temp). I've also noticed my aftermarket water temp gauge takes much longer to go up, maybe 10-15 minutes. Did I plug the sensors into the wrong gauges? It seems like water should be heating up first and it's an easy fix, but I wanted to confirm with others first.

the oil is closer to where the heat is created

I'm not a mechanic, but I would think the oil temperature should warm up first. The heat comes from friction and from the burning of fuel in the cylinders - all of which happens in the engine. The purpose of the cooling system is to flow coolant through the engine and draw that heat away from the engine into the radiator, where the air flow can cool it down. So heat is generated in the engine, and "expelled" via the radiator. So the oil temperature would warm up first.

I have an aftermarket oil temperature gauge in my CRX.
It is my experience that the coolant takes around 5 minutes to warm up. That's the standard temp gauge in most cars.
The oil temp gauge doesn't even move all that much the first 5 minutes. But after 10 minutes the oil also reaches it's normal operating temperature.
On a freezing cold day it can even take up to 20 minutes.

I realise that the CRX is a very different car, but still my guess would be that you have indeed switched the sensors/wires.
Especially since your oil gauge corresponds with your OEM temp gauge.

Last edited:
I was always taught oil takes longer than water and even when your water temp is up to normal, the oil is not yet ready for high-load, high rpm driving.