• Protip: Profile posts are public! Use Conversations to message other members privately. Everyone can see the content of a profile post.

Anywhere in the DC area sell racing helmets?

I guess I will need to pick one up before NSXPO and I hear it is important to try it on rather than buying it online. So, where does one do that in the DC area? Any recommendations?

I have no experience but I'm in the same boat. After poking around online a bit, it seems like this may be the best option, by Dulles:
http://www.ogracing.com/

I did purchase mine online as they do allow returns and there were not a lot of places nearby for me to try on at that time.

You can attend an HPDE event at Summit as I figured that would be closest to you to chat up folks who most likely would let you try on a helmet there.

Alternately, we do have loaner helmets for those at the track. You don't have to buy one. This would allow you to check out other folk's helmets and see what you do and don't like, not just in the shop, but while on the track.

I have no experience but I'm in the same boat. After poking around online a bit, it seems like this may be the best option, by Dulles:
http://www.ogracing.com/

this

The main store in Sterling has everything. The little shop at Summit Point has a minimal amount of stuff, mostly trackside emergency items.

Will try to pop out there this Saturday (they are open between 10-2PM and not open on Sunday) and try a few on. I suppose that means I should go out to Katie's first.

Pooh - I may very well take you up on the loaner idea, but given my height (just under 6'2), I wouldn't mind verifying fit a bit to make sure I don't need something special. Assuming it all fits in the car with the top on, I may just go with a loaner rather than dropping the close to $300 on a helmet that might not be the best all around helmet for my needs.